Over one hundred years ago a group of Jewish farmers packed their meager possessions, left the shtetls of Eastern Europe and settled in Rensselaer County. These early settlers soon grew into a thriving and vibrant Jewish community and established three synagogues — the Nassau Synagogue with sister congregations in Schodack and East Nassau. Today, The Nassau Synagogue is the only remaining congregation of the three and still stands in the village center in its original location, a pre-Civil War building, once home to a cobbler shop.


About Us